23 Jun 2024
The voice of the independent garage sector

Aftermarket among winners at Self-driving Industry Awards

Aftermarket’s Editor Alex Wells was among those recognised at the the inaugural Self-driving Industry Awards, held at the Turner Contemporary in Margate on 17 November, where the the headline Vehicle of the Year prize went to Project CAVForth, a fleet of five single-decker, low-emission Stagecoach buses which have been running in Scotland daily since May.

Presented by Carsofthefuture.co.uk, the Self-driving Industry Awards celebrate excellence in connected and automated mobility (CAM), in the UK and internationally.

Alex received his Special Recognition Award as a result of Aftermarket’s ongoing coverage of the roll-out of automated vehicle technology via the Aftermarket of the Future section. He observed: “With technology like ADAS already standard on new cars, it is important for garages to keep an eye on where tech is taking automotive as we move forward.”

Carsofthefuture.co.uk Editor Neil Kennett added: “Self-driving is about to completely revolutionise how people and goods move. The tech is already about as safe as the average human driver, and it’s only going to get better. From a UK perspective, following the King’s Speech, we’ve got an incredible opportunity to define a successful, safety-first approach to rollout. In stark contrast to the robotaxi controversy in California, we are seen as a trusted leader in self-driving, widely recognised as the best place to test. “

The full list of winners was as follows:
• Vehicle of the Year: Project CAVForth
• Person of the Year: Alex Kendall, Wayve
• Consumer Champion: Rebecca Posner, CCAV
• Industry Legend: Professor Paul Newman CBE, Oxa
• Aftermarket Award: Jifeline
• Design Award: Dromos
• Hardware Award: Arbe Robotics
• Foundational Software Award: Applied EV
• Insurance Award: Marsh
• Legal Award: Burges Salmon LLP
• Research Award: Reed Mobility
• Sensing Software Award: LeddarTech
• Testing Award: Kodiak Robotics
• Trust Award: Angoka
• V2X Award: Beam Connectivity
• Special Recognition Award: Kenneth Clarke, Silvera Automotive Solutions
• Special Recognition Award: Alex Wells, Aftermarket Magazine

Margate’s Mayor, Councillor Rob Yates said his ambition for self-driving cars to ferry delegates from Margate Station to the Turner for 2024’s Self-driving Industry Awards.

For more information, visit: https://carsofthefuture.co.uk/