17 Jul 2024
The voice of the independent garage sector

“Beacons of best-practice, determination and innovation: “ IMI 2023 Award Winners

A wide range of businesses, organisations and individuals saw their achievements recognised at the 2023 IMI Awards last night (Wednesday 15 March).

New categories included the President’s Award, focused on environmental, sustainability and green innovation in learning and won by UK Truck & Plant Group, while the IMI Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Award went to Volkswagen Group UK.
Meanwhile, Julia Muir, Founder of the Automotive 30% Club and last year’s winner of the IMI’s Sue Brownson Award, became an Honorary Fellow of the IMI (FIMI). She was joined by former IMI President, Graham Smith OBE, who was also been awarded an Honorary Fellowship.

The rest of the winners of the IMI 2023 Awards were as follows:
Outstanding Contribution to the Automotive Industry – Auto Trader
Sponsored by Autotech Group

Contribution to the Work of the IMI – BMW Group Academy UK
Sponsored by LKQ Euro Car Parts

Apprentice of the Year – George Hinkley, Scania, South Mimms
Sponsored by GSF Car Parts

Full-time Student of the Year – Thomas Morris, Bridgwater & Taunton College
Sponsored by LKQ Euro Car Parts

Partner of the Year Award – LKQ Euro Car Parts
Sponsored by Auto Trader

President’s Award – UK Truck & Plant Group (UKTP)
Sponsored by ALPHERA Financial Services

Equity, Diversity and Incusion Award – Championing Diversity in Automotive – Volkswagen Group UK
Jointly sponsored by NFDA and IGA

Commenting on the awards, IMI CEO Steve Nash said: “All of our winners and finalists are beacons of best-practice, determination and innovation, positively influencing change across our sector. Whether they are addressing our industry’s resources and skills shortages, rising to the UK’s carbon neutral ambition or driving the shift in the cultural diversity of our workplace, every entrant deserves the recognition.”